.

Letter to the Editor: Vote Change for 'More Open, Fair Government' in Town of St. Joseph

Steve and Theresa Johnson, of Hudson, write a letter to the editor in support of Jay Kimble, Dan Thompson and Keegan McConaughey for Town of St. Joseph Board.

It is time for a change in the Town of St. Joseph town board and we support Jay Kimble for Town Chair, Dan Thompson for 2nd Supervisor and Keegan McConaughey for 4th Supervisor. 

These are men of integrity, honesty and fairness who will serve the Town residents in a professional, competent manner and will make thoughtful, fair and ethical decisions.

Jay is the former Deputy Zoning Administrator for St. Joe, former Mayor of Stillwater and a former deputy sheriff. He has unparalleled knowledge of the St. Croix River Crossing and is a proven, strong leader.

Dan is a successful business owner, St. Joseph volunteer firefighter and will watch over the financial picture for the town. He understands town government and will treat all who come before him in a fair manner.

Keegan is a Major in the MN Air Guard and a former active member of the US Air Force, born and raised in the Houlton area--no one is more honest and forthright than Keegan and he will serve this community with the same passion and commitment that he has served the Air Force. 

Please get out and vote on Tuesday, April 2nd for these men and make a change for a better and more open, fair government for the Town of St. Joseph. 

-- Steve and Theresa Johnson, Hudson

Carbon Bigfuut March 25, 2013 at 04:03 PM
There is a great need for honesty and integrity on the St. Joe town board. These people will bring that to our local government.
mainstreet March 25, 2013 at 04:59 PM
Gee lets see, the former town chair presided over the building of a 400K unneeded and unwarranted fire hall just so she could secure the fire departments votes. She also tried to rule with an iron fist and resisted everyone and anyone who had opposing views. Thankfully enough people saw thru her charade and voted her out of office. Who was this former town chair? The letter writer.
country boy March 25, 2013 at 09:51 PM
mainstreet: Unneeded, unwarranted fire station addition? Secure votes? Your statement shows your lack of knowledge on the FD subject. Maybe you should crawl out from under your rock, get some sunshine, and join the fire dept to understand how things work instead of opining behind your keyboard. Move along, nothing to see here from the non-player.
mainstreet March 25, 2013 at 10:06 PM
Sorry CB but I was at the meeting when the item was passed. There was nothing presented that showed an urgent need. In fact the only reason it passed was because the entire fire department was there to vote yes for it. If the fire department was to be taken seriously they would have recused themselves. Instead the self serving bunch shows up to insure passage. What a joke. Boys with toys paid for by the taxpayers.
Carbon Bigfuut March 25, 2013 at 11:31 PM
mainstreet, you're showing how little you know about the town and the fire dept. There was also a proposal at that meeting to add additional office space to the town hall, but the voters decided the fire dept. space was more important. And you're saying that fire dept. members are not taxpayers that would be interested in the health of their town?
mainstreet March 25, 2013 at 11:47 PM
That was the funniest part of the meeting. The FD members voted against the office space proposal (along with everyone else), that's why it failed! As for the FD being taxpayers, I would bet maybe 1/2-2/3 are, or were there voting. The rest were FD members kids who live at home who may also be members but were there voting since they were over 18.
Carbon Bigfuut March 26, 2013 at 01:56 AM
You like to put down the fire dept., but if it was your house on fire, you'd be crying like a baby for someone to put it out. At least SOME people in the town give their time to help others and keep the citizens safe.
country boy March 26, 2013 at 02:25 AM
mainstreet, You have outed yourself. I know who you really are...your handle is now defunct. You can kiss my business goodbye at your little shop. With your attitude it looks like you have been sucking on the kool aide dispensed by some of the schlepps that are on the Town board and their groupies. Everybody move along here. Nothing to see or learn from the non-player....
Paine Reliever March 26, 2013 at 02:27 PM
Mainstreet, Your views of who should be able to vote is beyond pathetic. "to be taken seriously"??? I think fireman are serious folk, especially when saving your life if needed. Your reasoning that taxpayers and 18 year old adults should not exercise a basic right to vote just because they may have a viewpoint different from your own is just weak.
mainstreet March 26, 2013 at 04:07 PM
I find it rather amusing that you are more concerned with my identity, rather than posting any facts supporting the letter writer or the candidates. Speaks volumes actually. I must have hit a bullseye. BTW - I never said a word about being anti FD. Only anti $400,000 boondoggles, politicians who support(ted) them, and candidates supported by said politicians.
Carbon Bigfuut March 26, 2013 at 04:45 PM
Your comments above show that you're anti-FD. You rant and rave about a former town official, but have nothing to say about the people that are running for office?
country boy March 26, 2013 at 06:01 PM
mainstreet. I could really give a hoot about your identity since I know who you are. It may be a boondoggle to you, but also speaks volumes as to your non-support of improvements to the towns infrastructure either. You have your opinions and I have mine Still a a non-player.
Carbon Bigfuut March 26, 2013 at 11:09 PM
So where are your facts about the candidates running for office? You seem to be the one badmouthing the letter writer, not anybody else.
Concerned Citizen April 02, 2013 at 02:41 PM
Nepotism was the greatest injustice our town experienced in the last year and half. Colbeth is married to the town clerk treasure. In my opinion he should have stepped down. It has been a very uncomfortable situation for many of our townspeople. In my opinion, Colbeth is another that can not come up with an idea or decision on his own, his wife sits right next to him during the board meeting, and she talks more than he does. I’ll be happy when they are both gone. It is not fair to have a supervisor for the town, a county highway worker, getting paid by both the Town of St. Joseph and the county, all the while being married to the one who prints his checks. Colbeth, Gavin and Treager, all voted to get rid of Tuma's snow plowing company. We are going to need tens of thousands of our tax dollars for repairing our road’s shoulders. We certainly won’t have any money left for regular maintenance this summer. And, if you want to hear why Tuma was really let go, just go to the town hall and ask for the recording on cd between Adkins, Colbeth and Tuma.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »