.

Wisconsin GOP Files Complaint Alleging Shelly Moore Used State Resources to Coordinate Recall, Campaign

In its complaint, the Wisconsin Republican Party alleges that Shelly Moore used a school email account to coordinate early recall and campaigning efforts. Several emails are included in the complaint.

The Wisconsin Republican Party on Tuesday filed a complaint with the Wisconsin Government Acountability Board that alleges Shelly Moore used a school email account to coordinate early recall and campaigning efforts. 

The complaint, filed by Stephen Thompson, executive director of the Wisconsin Republican Party, includes several pages of emails sent to and from Shelly Moore's email account with the Ellsworth Community School District. In one of the emails dated March 10, 2011, Moore appears to write, "We are not supposed to use school email, but since all of our rights are being taken away, I don't frankly care."

On May 3, 2011, to unseat Wisconsin state Sen. Sheila Harsdorf (R-District 10) in an upcoming recall election.

Moore's official school district email account is a matter of public record, and the Republican Party filed an open records request to gain access to the emails.

Harsdorf campaign spokesperson Nathan Duerkop sent the following statement to Hudson Patch:

"Shelly Moore is a long-time special interest activist with a track record of loudly lobbying for her political goals. That she would use public resources to advance her interests is disappointing, but not surprising. Apparently when you 'breathe union' it’s hard to pay attention to your actual job."  

"We’ve long known Moore is beholden to the special interests she has represented for years, now apparently we have to worry about her ability to legally use public resources." 

"Anger over an issue is never an excuse to break the law." 

Gillian Moore, press secretary for the Wisconsin Democratic Party sent the following statement to Hudson Patch:

"Shelly was absolutely not using taxpayer dollars for campaign purposes -- no campaign even existed when these emails were sent. This blatantly political stunt is only a distraction from the real issue at hand: Sheila Harsdorf has launched an unprecedented assault on the rights and well-being of the working families and seniors of SD 10, and provided no avenue for them to defend themselves."

Moore faces in a recall primary election on July 12. The winner will face off against Harsdorf in an Aug. 9 election.

mainstreet June 23, 2011 at 06:05 PM
Let them start charging service fees. Then we will simply vote out the politicians responsible for such fees if they don't want to do their jobs and reduce spending. The state elections were just the start. This is going to be fun!
Dan BV June 23, 2011 at 06:07 PM
But now that we have concealed carry (A Republican jobs bill because, after all, they are all about jobs), just wait to see the employment boom! And Voter ID - Or did they call it "The Jobs Plus Act (JPA)"... just curious, how many ID machinery companies are there in Wisconsin? Because the actual ID machine operators are state employees... and that's a bad thing, ain'a?
mainstreet June 23, 2011 at 06:08 PM
Thurston, I provided you with a list on a different thread so I won't repeat it here. You just choose to ignore the fact that other people have different opinions then you. I for one am perfectly fine with everything that has transpired in the last few weeks on the state level. You aren't. No crime either way, just a difference of opinion.
Jim Bob June 23, 2011 at 06:27 PM
William: I was told the property taxes in Minnesota doubled because they were greatly reduce when Jesse "the conspiracy theory" Ventura had them drastically reduced. I don't think we have to look to Minnesota to see non-existant job growth and falling wages. Perhaps many of those 20-45'ers should just keep living with their parents...since some many have boomeranged back to mom and dad's. When we get back to the 20s and 30s, will they start making movies in black-n-white again?
Jim Bob June 23, 2011 at 06:31 PM
Michelle Bachman said the new Stillwater bridge will create 60,000 jobs. I hope they are working three shifts, because that's a lot of people on one bridge. Just for kicks, what percentage of your income would you be willing to turn over to the government to help run the country? 30? 40? 50? 60? Can you name any elected politicians who you feel safe in tresting your money too?
William Welbes June 23, 2011 at 08:42 PM
Ventura was over 11 years ago and he only reduce homes not commercial. Our property taxes went from 40,000 to 85,000 in the last three years as saint paul raised taxes to off set the reduction in state aid contributions. In addition we went from no service fees to a lttle over 18,000 in add on service per year. We now pay a yearly fee for street lights that front the property, for each strm drain in the parking lot, a lineal footage fee for street sweeping, to list a few. It should be noted that while the taxes were going up the valuations dropped by 25%. Currently the real estate taxes in minnesota are about 2.5 times what we pay for a similar building in wisconsin.and wisconsin is currently double the property we pay for a larger newer facility in Phoenix. With Walkers cuts I suspect our Wisconsin property taxes will end up 10-15% higher than minnesotas based on the cuts suggested. Nope unfortunately people that voted for Walker are gonna end up paying heavily for the privledge. I guess I dont care, Walker gave us a bonus tax cut, we can deduct the taxes so we will just do better. If the democrats prevail I will pay marginally more.
William Welbes June 23, 2011 at 08:45 PM
That is a great idea. Tie the legislative salaries to the number of jobs created and factor in a deduct for the cost of incentives used to lure jobs. Make them run job creation like a business.
Jim Bob June 23, 2011 at 09:13 PM
Shannon, becasue Moore is the right person for you, do you think it it ok for her to send a couple of e-mails from school before she was a candidate?
Jim Bob June 23, 2011 at 09:18 PM
What's wrong with higher property taxes? Would you rather pay $500 more in state taxes or $500 more is property taxes? Since the affluence equates to high property values and income is easy to shellgame around, I might perfer the $500 in property taxes or the income tax increase.
Thurston Howell III June 23, 2011 at 09:18 PM
Central. Scurt.... My back yard is significantly than the 10 th District of Wisconsin. The Koch influence on American Right Wing Politics is like a national cancer infecting the psyche of many with faux patriotic delusions that they are Constitutional scholars and 21st Century Revolutionaries. If you chose to wear blinders to the bigger picture, be my guest, but don't advise me as to where I should focus my attention, energy or comments.
Thurston Howell III June 23, 2011 at 09:37 PM
JPN, You seem to always be lightyears aheadof us lowly mortals when it comes to dissecting the political landscape. I wish I'd thought of that. ;-(
Thurston Howell III June 23, 2011 at 09:41 PM
Marcia, what a concise and compelling argument. No wonder Sheila doesn't have to say anything. She has she has astute operatives like you to run interference for her.
Thurston Howell III June 23, 2011 at 09:46 PM
William, You paid $85,000 in property taxes??? What do you won The Playboy Mansion Midwest?
Ted June 23, 2011 at 09:49 PM
That depends on who you are JPN. The elderly are a good example of people who are hurt by higher property taxes. It depends on each individual situation. Harsdorf used to talk a lot about cutting property taxes, yet in her 23 years in office, and many of those years with Republican governor, property taxes have continued to go up. Harsdorf did help get major property tax cuts for farmers. Those tax cuts helped farmers like her, but raised property taxes for other rural residents. In other words she voted to help herself and pass the bill on to the rest of us.
Thurston Howell III June 23, 2011 at 09:51 PM
"If the democrats prevail I will pay marginally more." This is why people in your financial strata can afford to bribe both sides with campaign contributions.
mainstreet June 23, 2011 at 10:06 PM
I would go for a 10-15% flat tax and then a VAT or some sort of consumption tax.
Shannon June 23, 2011 at 10:34 PM
JPN - Do I think it was okay for Shelly Moore to send a couple of emails from her work email account before she was a candidate? It was wrong and, by the contents of one of the emails, she knew it was wrong. The emails were sent before she was a candidate. If I had to hazard a guess, I'd say that 99.5% of us have sent a private email from our work email account. Half the people I used to work with would take office supplies from time to time. Does that make it okay to do that? No. Personally, I was impressed with one of Shelly Moore's emails that was about how much she cares for this area and how she has been a lifelong resident here. I'm saying Shelly Moore is human. She should fess up to it, of course, take her lumps, and then we should move on. We all live in a giant glass house. What irritates me is the holier-than-thou crowd, i.e. a certain local right-wing realtor who has a blog on another news website who rabidly lambasts Shelly Moore for these emails, yet when you Google HER name, you find out that said realtor had her license suspended for 30 days in 2003 and was ordered to take an ethics course. Giant. Glass. House. The bigger question to me is why all the mudslinging if Sheila can run on her own record???? So, JPN, why doesn't Sheila run a warm fuzzy campaign ad about all the good she's done in her District lately?
Dirk A. June 23, 2011 at 11:00 PM
Ted - If our financial house was in order before Walker took office then why did MN ditch our income tax reciprocity at the end of Doyle's term? Because we owe them $60 million that we don't have. Doesn't sound like the money situation was as rosey as you claim. Also, please answer the tax questions I asked. I'm interested in hearing what you have to say on that topic.
Dirk A. June 23, 2011 at 11:04 PM
TH3 - Show the world where I called anyone a thug. You compose more pap in your head then try to attribute it to someone more often than I can count. The fact that you support Moore is more than reason enough to support her opponent.
Ted June 23, 2011 at 11:33 PM
Come on Dirk, don't you remember Harsdorf voting to give $140 million in tax deductions for wealthy corporations? That was the vote that took us from a balanced budget to a deficit which the Harsdorf-Walker crew used to pass the so called budget repair bill which is one of the main reasons that Harsdorf was recalled. If the state was broke why did Harsdorf vote for $2.3 billion in corporate tax breaks over the next 10 years? I suppose we can argue about budget issues for ever, but I am really interested in why you think anyone should vote for Harsdorf. So until your willing to give me an answer I suspect I won't play much more budget ping pong with you. It's really a pretty simple question: Why should I or anyone else vote for Harsdorf?
William Welbes June 24, 2011 at 12:21 AM
Commercial buildings, wish it were the playboy mansion, it would be more fun, but I dont think I could take the excitement.
William Welbes June 24, 2011 at 12:25 AM
Pretty close, used to be a moderate republican but they are no longer tolerated so now I lean to the independent side. If I make money I should pay for the sevices provided. Ironically from many the tea party events I visited it appears those that are most vocal on taxes dont pay any anyway and are freeloading the system. I think the best system would be a simple VAT tax where every purchase either wholesale or retail or materials are taxed at a flat rate like 6%. Seems to work pretty well overseas.
Thurston Howell III June 24, 2011 at 02:31 AM
William, When I was in England during the Thatcher reign, VAT was 17% Ouch. ( from a tax loving liberal , not really as liberal as you may think ) How would a business owner deduct their expenses from a flat tax? You'd have to have exemptions ( on income ) of some kind, then the game begins all over again.
Thurston Howell III June 24, 2011 at 05:31 AM
William, Since the American Consumer has been the driving force behind the Global Economy, do you really think it wise to tax consumption with a VAT? Interested in hearing your opinion on that.
John Feia June 24, 2011 at 11:43 AM
When is all this unbelievable run on sensibility going to end. C'mon people this stuff isn't rocket science! What ever happened to the basics of right and wrong? How can anyone in this country support this stuff. Greed is being allowed to overcome support. The foundation of our country, civil rights, that have taken centuries to develop are being shredded. How can a millionaire stand there and defend not pitching in to help fix the vehicle that made him a millionaire at the expense of 140,000 people totally losing their health care and more? Since when is one person better than another? What has happened to the nobility of helping another when you are able? Ok my pathetic rant is over. I have one question for all the economic geniuses out there though. Does anyone remember where Reagan's "Supply Side Economics" got us? Businesses don't create jobs. People spending money buying things creates jobs!
Lilliom Magyar June 25, 2011 at 05:30 AM
I looked at the contract bwtween Shelly Moore and the school district and it says it is 190 days from Aug 23rd 2010 forward. The contract terminated as of March 1st, 2011. There is only one email in this whole lot that is dated within that contract period. It is February 16, 2011. All of the emails were before Shelly Moore was a declared candidate. If I were a teacher I think I would be saying a whole lot more about what was being done to public workers than Frankly I don't care if am sending and receiving emails when they are taking evrything away from us or similar. If I were sending political related emails and were a teacher it would not have been anything as well mannered as these.
Lilliom Magyar June 25, 2011 at 05:31 AM
I do think someone should file a complaint with the GAB about the campaign flyers that Harsdorf sent out most likely by political staff using demographics to target constituents by age, family status etc. I rather doubt that the state government has a list that uses such sophisticated demographics to target mailing to particular groups. Appears to me to be a political organization's list. I would like to see the office staffer identified who managed and sent out the flyer's. I would like to see who it was that listed this task on their time sheet. I'm betting there isn't any and that this task is was done by a political staffer or political organization. If so this might be a punishable offense using taxpayer money to conduct a political campaign. That would be far more serious than this frivolous complaint filed by the Republicans.
Art Dent July 01, 2011 at 10:37 PM
@Suzy V: Pretty sure the contract is for 190 working days, so if you subtract weekends and holidays you should get pretty close to a typical school year of about 9 months. If you dig a bit on the Ellsworth school district site, there are some meeting minutes that discuss the end of Ms. Moore's service. This was sometime in May if I remember correctly.
Ted July 01, 2011 at 10:45 PM
The Ellsworth School District has issued a statement that says there was no abuse of e-mail. Doesn't seem to matter to those dishonest right wingers who continue to try and make it an issue.
Don Vande Yacht July 01, 2011 at 11:21 PM
10th District Senate district citizens benefit from a WI state balanced budget, without increased taxes. Nuf said.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »