.

Wisconsin GOP Files Complaint Alleging Shelly Moore Used State Resources to Coordinate Recall, Campaign

In its complaint, the Wisconsin Republican Party alleges that Shelly Moore used a school email account to coordinate early recall and campaigning efforts. Several emails are included in the complaint.

The Wisconsin Republican Party on Tuesday filed a complaint with the Wisconsin Government Acountability Board that alleges Shelly Moore used a school email account to coordinate early recall and campaigning efforts. 

The complaint, filed by Stephen Thompson, executive director of the Wisconsin Republican Party, includes several pages of emails sent to and from Shelly Moore's email account with the Ellsworth Community School District. In one of the emails dated March 10, 2011, Moore appears to write, "We are not supposed to use school email, but since all of our rights are being taken away, I don't frankly care."

On May 3, 2011, to unseat Wisconsin state Sen. Sheila Harsdorf (R-District 10) in an upcoming recall election.

Moore's official school district email account is a matter of public record, and the Republican Party filed an open records request to gain access to the emails.

Harsdorf campaign spokesperson Nathan Duerkop sent the following statement to Hudson Patch:

"Shelly Moore is a long-time special interest activist with a track record of loudly lobbying for her political goals. That she would use public resources to advance her interests is disappointing, but not surprising. Apparently when you 'breathe union' it’s hard to pay attention to your actual job."  

"We’ve long known Moore is beholden to the special interests she has represented for years, now apparently we have to worry about her ability to legally use public resources." 

"Anger over an issue is never an excuse to break the law." 

Gillian Moore, press secretary for the Wisconsin Democratic Party sent the following statement to Hudson Patch:

"Shelly was absolutely not using taxpayer dollars for campaign purposes -- no campaign even existed when these emails were sent. This blatantly political stunt is only a distraction from the real issue at hand: Sheila Harsdorf has launched an unprecedented assault on the rights and well-being of the working families and seniors of SD 10, and provided no avenue for them to defend themselves."

Moore faces in a recall primary election on July 12. The winner will face off against Harsdorf in an Aug. 9 election.

Lilliom Magyar June 25, 2011 at 05:30 AM
I looked at the contract bwtween Shelly Moore and the school district and it says it is 190 days from Aug 23rd 2010 forward. The contract terminated as of March 1st, 2011. There is only one email in this whole lot that is dated within that contract period. It is February 16, 2011. All of the emails were before Shelly Moore was a declared candidate. If I were a teacher I think I would be saying a whole lot more about what was being done to public workers than Frankly I don't care if am sending and receiving emails when they are taking evrything away from us or similar. If I were sending political related emails and were a teacher it would not have been anything as well mannered as these.
Lilliom Magyar June 25, 2011 at 05:31 AM
I do think someone should file a complaint with the GAB about the campaign flyers that Harsdorf sent out most likely by political staff using demographics to target constituents by age, family status etc. I rather doubt that the state government has a list that uses such sophisticated demographics to target mailing to particular groups. Appears to me to be a political organization's list. I would like to see the office staffer identified who managed and sent out the flyer's. I would like to see who it was that listed this task on their time sheet. I'm betting there isn't any and that this task is was done by a political staffer or political organization. If so this might be a punishable offense using taxpayer money to conduct a political campaign. That would be far more serious than this frivolous complaint filed by the Republicans.
Art Dent July 01, 2011 at 10:37 PM
@Suzy V: Pretty sure the contract is for 190 working days, so if you subtract weekends and holidays you should get pretty close to a typical school year of about 9 months. If you dig a bit on the Ellsworth school district site, there are some meeting minutes that discuss the end of Ms. Moore's service. This was sometime in May if I remember correctly.
Ted July 01, 2011 at 10:45 PM
The Ellsworth School District has issued a statement that says there was no abuse of e-mail. Doesn't seem to matter to those dishonest right wingers who continue to try and make it an issue.
Don Vande Yacht July 01, 2011 at 11:21 PM
10th District Senate district citizens benefit from a WI state balanced budget, without increased taxes. Nuf said.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »